Minnesota State Agencies and Forms
MINNESOTA MINIMUM WAGE
If annual gross volue of sales are $500,000 or more:
Minimum Wage: $9.50 effective 8/1/16 and $9.00 effective 8/1/16
Minimum Cash Wage $9.50 effective 8/1/16 and $9.00 effective 8/1/16
Maximum Tip Credit: None in 2017, None in 2016, None in 2015.
If annual gross volue of sales are less than $500,000 or more:
Minimum Wage: $7.75effective 8/1/16 and $7.75 effective 8/1/16
For a complete review of minimum wage by state for 2017 »
Minimum Cash Wage $7.75 effective 8/1/16 and $7.75 effective 8/1/16
Maximum Tip Credit: None in 2016, None in 2015.
|Unemployment Insurance in Minnesota:
|Taxable Wage Base in 2017 (Increased from $31,000 in 2016)
|New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages) (Plus 0.1% workforce development assessment surcharge)
|UI Rate - Min - Max in 2017 (% Taxable Wages) (Plus 0.1% workforce development assessment surcharge)
||0.1 - 9.0
|Voluntary Contribution Permitted||Yes|
|Period Effective||Calendar Year 2017|
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI): Report quarterly wages and contributions by filing Form MDES-1D (Employer's Quarterly Wage Detail Report) and Form MDES-1 (Employer's Unemployment Quarterly Tax Report) by last day of month following end of quarter. State uses the Benefit ratio formula. l Assessment + Federal Loan Interest Assessment + Workforce Development Fee = Amount Due"
State Disability Insurance (SDI):
State Labor Laws:
Minimum wage - The Federal minimum wage rate applies. For large employers ($500,000. sales or more per year) minimum wage will be $8.00 effective August 1, 2014; $9.00 effective August 1, 2015 and $9.50 effective August 1, 2016.
Termination Pay - If fired, pay is due immediately. If the employee quits, paycheck is due by the next regularly scheduled payday, not to exceed 20 days from the last day worked.
The information on this web page is furnished with the understanding that the publisher is not engaged in rendering legal or accounting advice. If legal or expert services are required, contact your attorney or accounting professional.
Minnesota Income Tax Withheld
Minnesota requires employers to withhold income tax from the wages of residents and nonresidents.
Employer doing business in Minnesota must withhold state taxes from taxable wages paid to covered employees.
Wage Withholding: Tables
Supplemental Wage / Bonus Rate: 6.25%
Minnesota has reciprocal agreements with Michigan and North Dakota, provided that nonresidents certify that they are eligible to receive tax credits for income taxes that will be paid to their state of residence. Minnesota residents working in Michigan and North Dakora are exempted from withholding and tax filing requirements for those states.
Use our Salary Paycheck Calculator for your Minnesota payroll.
Top Cities for Payroll Services in Minnesota:.