Maine State Agencies and Forms
MAINE MINIMUM WAGE (Effective 1/1/17)
Minimum Wage $9.00
For a complete review of minimum wage by state for 2017 »
Minimum Cash Wage (Tipped Employee) $5.00
Maximum Tip Credit $4.00
Employees covered by Maine's minimum wage law must be paid $7.50 an hour.
Maine Revenue Services - Click here
Maine Department of Labor - Click here
|Unemployment Insurance in Maine:
|Taxable Wage Base in 2017 (Unchanged from 2016)
|New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages) (Includes 0.06% competitive skills scholarship fund rate)
|UI Rate - Min - Max in 2017 (% Taxable Wages) (Includes 0.06% competetitive skills scholarshp fund rate)
||0.55 - 5.46
|Voluntary Contribution Permitted||Yes|
|Period Effective||Calendar Year 2017|
Maine Income Tax Withholding
Maine requires employers to withhold income tax on all residents and nonresidents with Maine source income.
Wage Withholidng: Tables
Supplemental Wage / Bonus Rate: 5.0%
All employers with an office or transacting business within the state and making payment of taxable wages to Maine residents or nonresidents must withhold state tax. Furthermore, nonresident employers may withhold Maine taxes from wages of employees who are Maine residents as a convenience to those employees.
Employee Deduction: None
The information on this web page is furnished with the understanding that the publisher is not engaged in rendering legal or accounting advice. If legal or expert services are required, contact your attorney or accounting professional.
Use our Salary Paycheck Calculator for your Maine payroll.
Top Cities for Payroll Services in Maine:.